Skip to content

Murtagh: The World of Eragon Review (The Inheritance Cycle)

  • by
v 2

by Christopher Paolini

v 2

“Murtagh: The World of Eragon” is a gripping fantasy novel by Christopher Paolini, a master storyteller known for his international bestsellers like “Eragon,” “Eldest,” “Brisingr,” and “Inheritance.” This book, published on November 7, 2023, by Knopf, marks a highly anticipated return to the World of Eragon, extending the beloved Inheritance Cycle series. The novel is a substantial read, encompassing 704 pages, and has been eagerly awaited by fans of Paolini’s work

The story picks up in an Alagaësia that is finally free from the tyrannical reign of King Galbatorix. Murtagh and his dragon, Thorn, find themselves navigating a world where they are unable to shake off the stain of their past association with the fallen king. Hiding their true identities, they embark on a journey to unravel a cryptic warning and confront a new, shadowy threat. This adventure takes them back to familiar lands and introduces them to uncharted territories, where they encounter various challenges and enemies, including a witch named Bachel with a uniquely powerful amulet​

“A spellbinding fantasy writer.” —The Boston Globe

The novel delves deep into the psyche of its main character, Murtagh. He is portrayed as a complex and conflicted character, wrestling with the psychological scars of his past enslavement and childhood abuse. This depth of characterization adds layers to the narrative, allowing readers to explore the emotional consequences of Murtagh’s experiences. The relationship between Murtagh and Thorn is a central element, with Thorn emerging from merely being a plot device to a fully-realized character in his own right. Their rider-dragon bond is explored in depth, shedding light on Thorn’s journey of self-discovery​​​

“Murtagh: The World of Eragon” stands out as a masterpiece in fantasy literature, captivating readers with its thrilling adventure, profound exploration of the human condition, and moving drama. The novel is a testament to Paolini’s skill in expanding the lore and history of Alagaësia, introducing new cultures and characters, and exploring the complexities of war, trauma, and betrayal. The book is recommended for readers aged 12 and above, and is a must-read for fans of Paolini’s previous works as well as new readers looking for an epic and engaging fantasy novel​

In summary, “Murtagh: The World of Eragon” is more than just a continuation of a popular series; it’s a richly woven tapestry of fantasy, adventure, and character development. Christopher Paolini’s return to the world he created is a triumphant one, offering both long-time fans and new readers alike a novel that is as thought-provoking as it is entertaining.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *